top of page

Beloved - Emrys


November 2017

Merigold tells me it’s been nearly three weeks of tests. I can’t recall the time clearly. They start to blend together when you pass out from an induced electric shock repeatedly.

She’s combing my hair with her hands, untangling the long strands. It tingles as she pulls the knots out but it’s also very… relaxing. I can’t explain the feeling but I like it when she combs my hair.

She often leaves little braids in my hair, which I see in the reflection of the window. She makes sure to take them out before tests so the doctors won’t become anymore suspicious.

A knock comes at the door and I feel the air move as it's pulled open, admitting the plump nurse, Susan F. She shuffles into the room on slippered feet, a green faerie with leafy hair is perched on her shoulder, waving excitedly. She places a folding chair in front of me and leaves the room, but doesn’t shut the door. Odd.

I perch myself on the edge of the bed, curious about the open door. Should I approach it? Could I get out on my own? Is this my chance?

Another faerie walks into the room, 5 inches tall in a birch bark skirt and pitch black hair. She trots up to the bed and crawls up beside me, smiling. I smile back nervously. Merigold waves happily from my shoulder.

In a few beats of the heart, the nurse re-enters smoothing out her apron. “Emrys, dear, today you have a visitor. The head doctor has permitted you to see this guest. They’ll will be in shortly.” She steps outside the door and stands in the hallway.

I lean over from my position on the bed, trying to get a better look of the hall, but she stands just so only her profile is visible to me.

Who would want to see me? Was it mom and dad? Was it a new doctor? I suddenly feel a pang of fear and my hands begin to sweat. Merigold squeezes my shoulder in reassurance.

I look down at the faerie next to me and arch my eyebrow at her. She shakes her head, silky blonde hair spinning with each motion. “I don’t know who it is. They haven’t talked about them.” she says in a bell like tone.

“Is it a boy or a girl?” I ask. I have a strange feeling it’s both, but I can’t explain why I think that.

The nurse turns to look at me, and I grin, making it appear I had asked her instead of the faerie she can’t see.

“You will find out soon dear.” She says.

At the same time the faerie answers, “ NO clue.”

I frown down at her. That was no help. I have an unfounded feeling that it is both, but I can’t explain why. The nurse moves aside and I see an man in a fancy black suit walk in followed by a woman with a hard look on her face in a red dress. She is carrying a leather bag in one hand, and a small black card in the other. The man takes a seat in the folding chair in front of me.

“Hello Emrys.” The man says.

“Hello.” I answer shyly. His voice is deep, but gentle - not like the doctors here.

“I’m sure you have many questions right now.” I take a moment to process this, I’m so deep in shock that I was subconsciously just observing my visitor. How did one act with a visitor?

“Who are you?” I say.

“It’s to be expected that you don’t know who I am. I am going to be incharge of you from now on. My names Craig, and this is my partner, Melina. He looks me in the eyes and it seems to me like his eyes are smiling, not looking for anything, but giving me instead.

My mouth falls open. I don’t know how to respond. The initial shock wears off and suddenly I feel a pang of fear twist in my stomach. “Where are you taking me?” I ask.

Merigold pinches me hard and I can’t hold back my squeak of pain. “What was that for?” I hiss at her.

“Don’t mess this up Emrys! He’s here for you! Besides, he’s interesting. Perhaps this is you’re way out!” I shoot her a glare before looking back up at the man and the frowning woman.

He chuckles. “It's ok, There are many things we have to sort out, so I have to ask you to be patient. We’ll have you out of here in a couple of hours. How does that sound?” he asks me.

“Really?”

“Of course! You’ve been here, what, 9, 10 years?” I nodd, How does he know this? “And not once have you seen the world nor spoke to someone other than a doctor. Well, I'm here to change that for you.”

I blink, I don’t know what to think. I look to Merigold and see her smiling up at me. “See! We can be free!” I smile and turn back to Craig.

“There are a few minor conditions, but I understand you have some, ability to communicate with faeries, am I right?”

I timidly confirm with a nodd. I’m taken aback at how much he knows. “Did the doctors tell you about me?” Did they mention the tests?

“I don’t need any doctors to tell me how special you are. You can, say gather your things and I’ll come back for you once the paperwork is sorted out. Does this sound ok?”

“It sounds splendid!” I say with a small smile. The excitement is only just beginning.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page