top of page

Witches Moon - Finnigan


Finnigan

I curl into a tight ball, wrapping my tail around my feet and closing my eyes as I sleep next to the sleeping demon. Andrei is very close to finding out her secret. But still I will remain quiet. I listen to his recount of training with the Musketeers. The boys got talent, that's for sure.

Suddenly the door bursts open and Kerry runs in gasping, looking exhausted and excited all at the same time.

“Finn! I did it!” She shouts, causing Andrei to jump out of his chair.

“Oh my goodness, Kerry! You got the potion?” He asks. I watch the exchange as Kerry rushes over to the bed, pushing the chair aside.

“Yes. It took me three days to complete. I worked as fast as I could.” She explains stifling a yawn.

“Kerry dear, you haven’t slept a wink.” I muse.

“Finn. Zip it. I’m not in the mood.” I purr. I love it when she gets determined with anger.

She pulls out a tiny flask which glows a vibrant green colour. Inside I see the form of some sort of plant.

“What is it?” Andrei asks, trying to get a look while Kerry works with the cork.

“It's a life enhanced plant. I drew out the life energy of the nearby forest and concentrated it in these two ingredients. It was… tedious work.” She explains.

“Indeed it is.” I concur. Andrei looks ready to burst.

“Well, what are you waiting for?” The boys impatience is irksome.

“Give her a moment, she’s working as fast as she can.” I scold. I get a mild glare.

Kerry finally unstops the the flask and holds open Raven’s mouth with her other hand. Carefully she pours the entirety of the flasks contents into her mouth and pulls back, waiting.

I watch patiently as Andrei begins to fidget at the end of the bed.

“It isn’t working!” He whines, a pained expression spreads across his face.

“Patience.” I growl. “Kerry knows what she is doing. She just needs time. Why don’t you-”

A groan comes from Raven and her eyelids flutter open. Her mouth opens and she begins to cough. When she finally gains her composure she looks around the room groggily.

“What the hell was that? Tastes like ass…” She mutters, voice rough from her coma.

“It was a plant life energy potion. How do you feel?” Kerry leans over the edge of the bed, eager for her answer.

She props herself up on one elbow, licking her pallette and wiping her mouth with the back of her hand with a grimace. “No wonder it’s disgusting. It’s vegan! Uckk. I feel sick.” He gages.

“I’ll have you know I haven’t slept in 3 days making that for you without risking a single human life. I’m too tired to deal with your disgust at my potion.” She huffs, crossing her arms.

Raven looks to me, confused. “Potion?” She questions, cocking an eyebrow in my direction.

“Yes, you were in a life energy coma. We needed a quick revival that didn’t involve ambrosia. Kerry has an extended knowledge of alternative pick-me-ups.” I assure her. Kerry smirks at my indirect compliment.

Raven purses her lips and sighs, “I guess that’s better than the alternative.”

Andrei gawks from the end of the bed. “What's the alternative?” He says with mocking curiosity. I know it’s killing him to not know what she truly is, but that is for Raven to share. I sit patiently next to Raven, watching the conversation.

She freezes, not having noticed him there. I watch her put on a smile before turning to face him. “Hello love, you look good, that's a relief.”

He’s too quick. He rounds the other side of the bed and grips her shoulder with his shaking hand. It looks like he’s about to scream at her. Kerry looks alarmed and ready to freeze him.

A single tear forms in his eye and he’s quickly let's his hair fall to cover his face, hiding. “You worried me sick.” He growls. “Never do that again!” He pauses for a long moment then adds, “I’m glad you’re ok.” He bends down and hugs her, to everyone's surprise.

She blushes, laughing nervously as she half hugs him back. I feel her hesitation. “I’m sorry Andrei, but I can’t promise that.”

“Why the hell not?! Don’t you care how I feel?” His voice rises in frustration. He pulls back, no longer trying to hide. “Raven, you almost died! I…. I don’t want that.”

Ahh to be young and confused in love. It's quite obvious to me these two have feelings for each other. That could get complicated.

Raven avoids Andrei’s eyes, "I wouldn't have died. I would have woken up eventually..."

She glances at me, looking guilty, "It's the people nearby that would be at risk then..."

"There is hardly cause for worry. Kerry succeeded and she!s here now. Why don't you sit down and let Raven wake up? No need to drill her on her morals now." I say insistently.

Andrei reluctantly backs off and grabs the rolling chair, glaring at Raven from the other side of the room.

Raven lays back and scoffs, "Oh, yeah. This is way better."

“So, I don’t think there should be any odd side effects. If you’re feeling ok I say you’re free to wander around the branch. If you’d like you can rest in your room. If you feel anything unordinary please let me know ok?” Kerry instructs.

“In the meantime I’m going to get some sleep. I’m beat.” Kerry nods to Raven and Andrei and retrieves her potions bag, leaving the room yawning.

Raven gives a small wave as she leaves, then looks at me.

“I’m sure there are some bats I can hunt down. If you need me I’ll find you.” I say, jumping from the bed and moving to follow Kerry out. “Try not to be too intense with the girl. She has her reasons as much as you have yours.” I whisper to him before I leave. Those two need some alone time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page